Ban Nuclear Weapons

The World Federation of Scientific Workers hails the signature by 122 countries, on July 7th, 2017, of the Nuclear Weapons Ban Treaty.
This treaty reinforces the Non-Proliferation Treaty of July 1st, 1968, whose article 6 stipulates that “Each of the Parties to the Treaty undertakes to pursue negotiations in good faith on effective measures relating to cessation of the nuclear arms race at an early date and to nuclear disarmament, and on a treaty on general and complete disarmament under strict and effective international control.”.
The Treaty of July 7th shall come into effect 90 days after the deposit of the fiftieth instrument of ratification.
Since its creation in 1946, the FMTS fights against the use of scientific advances for the development of nuclear weapons. It invites all scientific workers to join any initiatives aiming at obtaining the ratification of this treaty by the government of their countries.